Getting diagnosed/Tested

Chat with others about dyspraxia and share your experiences.

Getting diagnosed/Tested

Postby KookyTookie » Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:29 pm

Hey, I'm new to all of this! Recently I have been seriously wondering wether or not I may have Dyspraxia, however, I have never spoken to any professional about these concerns or been officially diagnosed. I have just turned 25 and just finished my first year at university. The main reason why I have been questioning this suddenly is because of the difficulties I have encoutered during my studying this year. Most of my coursework marks have been either firsts or high 2:1 grades (equivalent of A and B grades.) I had an examination at the end of the year which I got a considerably low mark for compared to my other grades, despite putting huge amounts of effort into revision to prepare for this. During the examination I found that I just couldn't organise my ideas and found it extreamly difficult to concentrate, despite having the answers 'in my head.' another difficulty was the actual writing of the essay during the exam itself. My handwriiting is bad at the best of times, and under timed conditions it gets even worse. I actually had a very sore arm for two days after the exam because of how tense and hard I held my pen when writing. Even though my grades for non-timed essays have been very good, I do find that it takes me double the amount of time to write them compared to others. If I don't spend very long periods of time planning essays I probably wouldn't get such good grades. I am a bit of a prefectionist so I feel that because I spend so much time on uni work, that I don't have much time for anything else. This also stresses me out! Although I have never really thought any of these issues have been anything more than just the way I am before, I am now begining to wonder if there is something more to it than this. After doing some basic research on the symptoms of dyspraxia, I was shocked to discover that