Group work - aargh!

Stuck with your schoolwork? Post any questions or queries here and we'll all try to help.

Group work - aargh!

Postby angel.kisses » Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:36 pm

Does anyone else have to do group work at university? I have it for virtually every module, and it's OK when I'm in groups with people who know me as they know I have to start early and work steadily to get it done, and they appreciate the fact that it's done well and not rushed, but when I'm in a group with people who don't know me, they always want to do everything last minute. Even when I explain that I'm dyspraxic and need to start asap, they look at me as if I'm mad and don't bother.

It's really getting me down as I don't work well under pressure, and it's my degree that will suffer as a result (all the coursework counts towards my final degree). I'm in my final year, so should be revising for my exams too, but still have so much work to do :cry:

I tried speaking to the lecturers and they're no help, and I didn't really think they would be - it's not as if they can force the other students to work - but it's driving me mad! There's not a lot the Disability Assist people can do either, so I don't know how to handle it.

Does anyone have any ideas that won't make me even more unpopular (they all think I must be a complete swot, but I'm not I just need to take more time over things than they might)

I know you probably can't help much, but I just felt I needed to let off a bit off steam! :evil:

Anyway, thanks for listening!
angel.kisses

Postby Thirteen-thirty-seven » Sat Jan 21, 2006 9:43 pm

I find group work difficult sometimes, too.

I suggest giving a brief explaination of dyspraxis from this site to your classmates.

If they think you're a swot, ignore them. You degree is more important than their opinions.
Thirteen-thirty-seven
Forum God !

Postby pinkparrot » Sun Jan 22, 2006 9:10 am