Trouble with learning my German

Stuck with your schoolwork? Post any questions or queries here and we'll all try to help.

Trouble with learning my German

Postby CharlotteVanity11 » Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:31 pm

I have this German speaking exam next week and I am struggling so bad to learning it I have no idea what I am going to do as this is very important I just can't remember any of it ! does any one have any ideas?
CharlotteVanity11

Re: Trouble with learning my German

Postby Remus » Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:40 pm

Try using little flashcards and getting someone to test you against them. Putting up little sticky notes around the house may also be help say if you need to say something about the kitchen or something like that, you could put a note up in the kitchen so everytime you going into that area, you are reminded of it.
Remus
Site Admin

Postby chocolatefudgecake » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:54 pm

i'm not very good at learning languages, but I've heard that it can help to watch films in the language ou are trying to learn and to read books in that language.

I'm not sure if a week's long enough for that though. The idea is to submerge yourself in the language. It might not help for an exam either.
-ChocFC-
A badger! a badger! My Kingdom for a Badger!
chocolatefudgecake
The Cat's Pajamas !!

Postby Liz » Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:42 pm

I'd also watch movies (with subtitles, probably). To me, this is the easiest and certainly the most enjoyable way to learn a language and to get used to idiomatic structures. At least this is how I usually try to get used to a language, but it is probably different for everybody since there are various methods of studying (writing everything down, recording the stuff you have to remember...)
(By the way: learning German as a foreign language sounds fascinating to me since I'm a native speaker of German. :wink: )
Liz
Advanced Member

Postby _robyn_ » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:42 am