How can i cope with a degree?

Share any tips or ideas that you have which make living with dyspraxia easier.(Please start a new thread for each tip)

How can i cope with a degree?

Postby Lulujeanne » Sun May 09, 2010 5:18 pm

Hello all :lol: Newbie here!

i will be starting a nursing degree in march 2011. I have just finished an Access to Nursing course, which does what it says on the tin!

I have only just been diagnosed with dyspraxia, so i am still learning about the condition.

I know that i mainly suffer with poor concentration, poor structure and organisational skills (amongst a range of things!)

I have really struggled for this past year, particulary with my organisational skills. I find that i leave my assignments til the last mintue, as i find it really hard to actually sit myself down and concentrate on the work. I do own a pair of tinted glasses as i have found out i have a light sensory problem, however my concentration levels are still bad.

I'm in a dilemma.. I don't have enough space to home to have a desk in a room on my own. I usually do my essays on the couch next to boyfriend/tv which distracts me. However i don't have anywhere else i can work.

Reliasticly i need a study room for myself to have a desk etc with no distractions. Should i move into expensive halls, with noisy surroundings and al night parties. Or should i look into getting a bigger place, which will mean i will have to travel for an hour each day and will miss out on any student life (although thats distracting in itself). Anyone been to university or been in my shoes as regards to studying?

Any suggesstions would be appreciated!

Lulu :twisted:
Lulujeanne

Re: How can i cope with a degree?

Postby Thirteen-thirty-seven » Mon May 10, 2010 11:12 am

WOrk in the library at Uni. That will be quiet and giv eyou space to concentrate.
Thirteen-thirty-seven
Forum God !

Postby Lulujeanne » Mon May 10, 2010 6:49 pm