una47 my story

Use this forum to announce yourself to the world!

una47 my story

Postby una47 » Tue May 18, 2010 8:24 pm

Hi
I am 47 so I hope I can join in under granny terms!?

Laura who just joined told me there are others a bit past their teens here as well.

I am a psychologist and a psychotherapist and only discovered I have dyspraxia when I was 46!

Prior to that at 44yrs - I was diagnosed with AD/HD but it did not explain my tendency to bump into things and bruise myself and trip over things on an hourly basis.

Saw a documentary on Dyspraxia and hey Bingo! you know the rest- had the assessment, all confirmed etc etc. I know for me that Dyspraxia is the dominant difficulty or challenge I face - its hard to know for sure if AD/HD is also present or not. I do find that stimulant meds help all aspects including my Dyspraxia stuff - to a significant level.

Still learning so much about it - like layers of an onion, I 'get' different realities about dyspraxia when my brain it ready to deal with it!

Despite pretty dismal school/academic failure in tests and state exams - I went to University as a mature (ish) student - because the criteria for mature students was different - ie I didn't have to have passed my state exams!

I went on to EXCEL at my academic work - gaining first place in my degree subjects and continueing on to Masters level in two post-grad degress including training in a university teaching hospital. All this despite undiagnosed dsypraxia, adhd and considerable LD's.

But it was being able to pace myself and work on my own terms at University 90% of the time that made the difference for me.

So I went from Dunce to Genius on paper....of course the brains were there all along just no-one realised it, least of all myself.