Hello, I'm new!

Use this forum to announce yourself to the world!

Hello, I'm new!

Postby linnetswings » Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:27 pm

Hi! So as the subject title says, I'm new on the forum (and kind of new to dyspraxia in general). I'm a female student at uni in England, reading History for my degree and pretty much everything else for fun! Sadly, I'm no longer a teen (but only by a few months) and have yet to adjust to this new world of being in your TWENTIES. Scary times.

I was first officially diagnosed with dyspraxia in October when I'd just started university and was 19. After a lifetime of general difficulties with clumsiness and slowness in education, things started change in secondary school. One of my old teachers summed up general opinion of me by saying, "We thought you were just dim or lazy!" To be fair, there's quite of lot of truth in that statement! I'd had special exam arrangements following an ed psych appointment a few months before my GCSEs but my assessor was loathe to diagnose dyspraxia considering that at the ripe old age of 15 little could be done in the way of occupational therapy. Like most people, I've muddled along with admittedly mild difficulties (apparently taught myself lots of coping mechanisms) but moving to a different part of the UK (and indeed a different country!) for university knocked me for six so I've recently taken up disability support at university.