Hi, I'm new to this, please be kind. advice would be great.

Use this forum to announce yourself to the world!

Hi, I'm new to this, please be kind. advice would be great.

Postby forever_mars » Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:44 pm

Hello!

I'm Jen, I'm nearly 18 and yesterday I was diagnosed with dyspraxia AND asperger's. Not really sure how to feel yet. I feel slightly relieved yet can't stop crying. I worry that other people, especially people I've known for a long time, won't believe me. They'll think I'm just making excuses for being clumsy and 'lazy' etc.

Would really like to hear how other people felt when they were first diagnosed.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.
forever_mars

Re: Hi, I'm new to this, please be kind. advice would be gre

Postby Dan D Lyons » Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:30 pm

Firstly, you are exactly the same as before the diagnosis but you can choose to get help for any difficulties you have. Secondly, people are a lot more accepting about these kind of things than you think. A lot of people just accept it and some people are interested and ask some questions, and they definately don't think you are making excuses. PM if you want to talk to me more and if you want more support *cwtches*
07williamsdj Nov 15, 2010 - Jul 11, 2012
Dan D Lyons
Mega Poster

Postby Steph » Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:31 pm

Hiya! I'm Steph and I'm 26. I have both dyspraxia and Aspergers Syndrome. I live in Surrey in south east England and I work as a support worker in a residential school for children with severe and complex epilepsy and other neurological and physical disabilities. It is very challenging but I enjoy it and I am getting better at it now! I love animals (I have 3 cats at home), the Internet, learning about other cultures and languages, reading and listening to music. I hope you enjoy the boards :D